Ridesharing applications continue to grow in popularity, especially in dense population centers like Miami. With so many people using these apps as alternatives to traditional transportation, there’s a chance you could find yourself in an accident while in an Uber or Lyft.
Most of us don’t think of this possibility when we order a ride. Luckily, Murray & Associates is here to answer all your questions and guide you through the process in the event of a ridesharing accident.
The big names in the ridesharing business like Uber and Lyft offer their drivers robust insurance policies to cover accidents. This is readily apparent when you compare the Florida minimum personal injury protection (PIP) requirement of $10,000 to the $50,000 requirement for ridesharing in case of physical injury or death. However, these numbers fluctuate – while a driver is looking for a passenger, they are subject to lower insurance premiums.
If you are a passenger of an Uber or Lyft, you are eligible to collect from the ridesharing company if you suffer an injury. However, the Florida legal principles still apply in cases of catastrophic accidents, and the at-fault driver becomes responsible for your losses.
Generally, yes. Uber and Lyft have strict rules about who can be part of their ridesharing program, and Florida’s no-tolerance laws reinforce these rules. Ridesharing companies their drivers by running background checks and do not allow those with drunk driving convictions to drive for them in the last five years. These companies are also required to reject drivers convicted of:
Car accidents can be complicated enough, but you’ll need legal experts to clarify the situation when you add ridesharing rules and regulations. Call our Murray & Associates team today to request a consultation.